Kenyans sweep Boston Marathon

Edna Kiplagat_1492445164311_229386_ver1.0_640_360_1492447317332.jpg

Kenyan runners swept the Boston Marathon on Monday, with Edna Kiplagat winning the women’s title and Geoffrey Kirui taking the men’s race.

Kiplagat, the 2011 and 2013 IAAF World Champion in the marathon, finished with a time of 2:21:52. Rose Chelimo of Bahrain finished second and Americans Jordan Hasay and Desiree Linden took third and fourth.

Kirui finished with a time of 2:09:37, edging out American Galen Rupp, for his first Boston Marathon victory. Suguru Osako of Japan came in third, followed by American Shadrack Biwott in fourth.

In the wheelchair divisions it was a Swiss sweep, with Marcel Hug claiming his third straight win and Manuela Schar winning her first title.

Hug, a seven-time world champion and two-time Paralympic gold medalist, set a new world record on Monday with a finish time of 1:18:04.

Ernst Van Dyk of Russia took second and Hiroyuki Yamamoto was third. Josh George and Aaron Pike had the best finish among Americans, placing sixth and seventh.

Schar, who won the marathon gold medal at the 2013 World Championships, finished with a time of 1:28:17, also setting a new world record.

Russian-born American Tatyana McFadden, the four-time defending champion in the women’s wheelchair division, finished in fourth place with a time of 1:35:05. She was part of a grouping of American women right behind Schar, with Amanda McGrory and Susannah Scaroni finishing second and third and Chelsea McClammer taking fifth.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Covid-19 County by County tracker

Trending Stories

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss