Two states added to New York coronavirus travel advisory, none removed, 30 states total on list


ALBANY, N.Y. (WROC) — Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced Tuesday that two states were added to the coronavirus travel advisory, which requires incoming travelers from areas of high infection rates to self-quarantine for two weeks upon arrival.

Alaska and Montana were added to the list, and none were removed this week, so there are now 30 states total on the list, including the territories of Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.

MORE | Gov. Cuomo announces incoming travelers from states of high infection rates must quarantine for 14 days

The full updated list of states on the travel advisory:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Guam
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Virgin Islands
  • Wisconsin

The travel advisory quarantine applies to any person that arrives from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a seven-day rolling average or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average.

People caught violating the advisory risk civil penalties ranging from $2,000 to $10,000, Gov. Cuomo said earlier this summer.

“As we continue to pursue a phased, data driven reopening, the number of areas that remain on New York’s travel advisory is a stark reminder of the continued extent of the COVID-19 crisis throughout the nation,” Gov. Cuomo said in a Tuesday press release. “Our ability to protect our state and fight the virus begins with what we do here at home, and that’s why it’s so important that New Yorkers wear masks, socially distance and wash their hands, and why local governments need to enforce state guidance. Everyone stay safe and be New York Tough, and we will get through this together.”

MORE | New York’s incoming traveler advisory explained, Gov. Cuomo says ‘it’s like any other law’

There are exceptions to the quarantine travel advisory rules: Essential workers are exempt and stays of less than 24 hours in an area wouldn’t constitute enforcement.

For more information on the travel advisory, visit this New York state website.

Tuesday’s data is summarized briefly below, according to the governor’s office:

  • Patient Hospitalization – 432 (+14)
  • Patients Newly Admitted – 64
  • Hospital Counties – 31
  • Number ICU – 109 (+0)
  • Number ICU with Intubation – 54 (+3)
  • Total Discharges – 75,142 (+42)
  • Deaths – 3
  • Total Deaths – 25,331

Of the 76,997 test results reported to New York State yesterday, 754, or 0.98 percent, were positive. Each region’s percentage of positive test results reported over the last three days is as follows:

Capital Region0.6%0.6%1.3%
Central New York0.8%1.3%0.9%
Rochester & Finger Lakes0.6%0.4%0.4%
Long Island0.8%1.2%1.0%
Mohawk Valley0.5%0.3%1.9%
New York City0.7%0.9%0.9%
North Country0.4%0.2%0.3%
Southern Tier0.3%0.7%0.7%
Western New York1.6%2.0%1.6%

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Covid-19 County by County tracker

Trending Stories

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss