2 states added to New York coronavirus travel advisory, none removed, 33 states total on list


ALBANY, N.Y. (WROC) — Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced Tuesday that two more states were added to the coronavirus travel advisory, which requires incoming travelers from areas of high infection rates to self-quarantine for two weeks upon arrival.

The new states are Alaska and Delaware, making 33 states total, plus Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. No states were removed since last week’s update.

MORE | Gov. Cuomo announces incoming travelers from states of high infection rates must quarantine for 14 days

The full updated list of states on the travel advisory:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Virgin Islands
  • Wisconsin

The travel advisory quarantine applies to any person that arrives from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a seven-day rolling average or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average.

People caught violating the advisory risk civil penalties ranging from $2,000 to $10,000, Gov. Cuomo said last month.

MORE | New York’s incoming traveler advisory explained, Gov. Cuomo says ‘it’s like any other law’

There are exceptions to the quarantine travel advisory rules: Essential workers are exempt and stays of less than 24 hours in an area wouldn’t constitute enforcement.

For more information on the travel advisory, visit this New York state website.

The governor also announced an updated on statewide coronavirus numbers Tuesday:

Of the 66,891 test results reported to New York State yesterday, 655, or 0.98 percent, were positive. Each region’s percentage of positive test results reported over the last three days is as follows:

Capital Region1.2%0.3%0.8%
Central New York0.7%0.2%0.6%
Finger Lakes0.5%0.5%0.7%
Long Island0.8%0.6%1.1%
Mohawk Valley0.3%0.5%1.1%
New York City0.9%0.9%1.1%
North Country0.3%0.1%0.5%
Southern Tier0.1%0.5%0.3%
Western New York0.9%0.5%0.8%

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Remarkable Women

Trending Stories

Covid-19 County by County tracker
Download Our App

Don't Miss

More Don't Miss