Merkulov, McQuaid Crowned Golf Champs

Published 05/23 2010 12:32AM

Updated 05/23 2010 12:46AM

Yarik Merkulov fired the round of the day at the Country Club of Mendon. His 1-under 69 won the Class A Title at the Section Five Golf Sectionals Saturday afternoon.

McQuaid's four man team of Trevor Sluman, Andrew Lane, Ben Kircher and Alex Bourdelais won the Class A team title with a total score of 306. All four broke 80 and will be heading to Monday's state qualifiers.

The cut line for the qualifier was 9-over 79. Twenty players and ties were eligilble to move on, but exactly 20 players were at or below the cut.

Scott Howell from North-Rose Wolcott won the Class B championship with a 78. Corey Haas (Cuba-Rushford) and Sam Lamont (Elba) shared the Class C title with a 79.

The Class B team champion was Livonia. Dan Kurtz, Dan Bayer, Joe Ando and Cody Cronmiller combined for a 348. Honeoye's team of Jered Maloney, Justin Evanicki, Ben Cratsley and Kyle Boldt fired a team score of 354 to win Class C.

The state qualifier is Monday at Ridgemont Country Club.

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.