Bills Send Three To Pro Bowl

- There are three Buffalo Bills going to the 2013 Pro Bowl for the third time in their careers. The Bills have not sent three players to the Pro Bowl since... 2004.

Even numerical quirks don't go quite right for the Bills this season.

Jairus Byrd, Kyle Williams and Mario Williams will represent the Bills in Hawaii the Sunday before Super Bowl XLVIII. Byrd and Kyle each went last season. It should not be much of a surprise for a defense ranked 8th in the NFL, even if the team has only won six games.

Byrd has a team-high four interceptions this year, ranking him tied for third in AFC. The two interceptions in Week 11 vs. the Jets made him just the third player in franchise history with five multi-interception performances. 
Byrd ranks second in the NFL with 22 interceptions since joining the Bills.
Kyle Williams recorded a career high 10.5 sacks in 2013 to go along with 65 tackles (42 solo) and a career-high 21 quarterback hits. A consistent source of pressure for the Bills, Williams had multiple sacks in four games this year.
In his eight-year career, Williams has registered 500 tackles (304 solo) and 29.0 sacks in 114 games played with 109 starts.

Mario Williams has enjoyed one of the best years of his eight year career in 2013. Highlighted by his franchise record setting 4.5 sack effort in Week Two versus Carolina, Williams has accumulated 13.0 sacks through the Bills’ first 15 contests. After registering 10.5 sacks in 2012, Williams became the first Bill to have back-to-back double digit sack seasons since Aaron Schobel in 2005-2006. 
Over his eight year career, Williams has started each of his 113 career games played tallying 76.5 sacks, 321 tackles (256 solo), 14 forced fumbles, five fumble recoveries, 19 passes defensed and a touchdown.
The 2014 Pro Bowl will be played on Sunday, January 26, and televised live on NBC at 7:00 PM ET from Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii. For the first time ever, the Pro Bowl will be “unconferenced.”  Instead of the AFC vs. NFC matchup that has been the format since 1971, players will be selected without regard to conference in voting by fans, coaches and players.  Players will be assigned to teams during the first-ever Pro Bowl Draft on NFL Network on Wednesday, January 22 at 8:00 PM ET.

More Stories

Don't Miss

Latest News

Video Center