Montoya wins pole for Watkins Glen NASCAR race

WATKINS GLEN, N.Y.--  Juan Pablo Montoya has won the Sprint Cup pole for the Finger Lakes 355 at Watkins Glen International.  The race will take place tomorrow at 1:00pm.

Montoya turned a lap around the 11-turn, 2.45-mile layout in 69.438 seconds at 127.020 mph to eclipse the track record of 69.767 seconds at 126.421 mph set a year ago by Kyle Busch. It's Montoya's second straight pole and ninth of his career. Busch qualified second, also eclipsing the track record.

Jimmie Johnson qualified third, followed by Brad Keselowski and Marcos Ambrose. Ryan Newman, five-time Watkins Glen winner Tony Stewart, Clint Bowyer, Martin Truex Jr. and Jamie McMurray rounded out the top 10.

Points leader Dale Earnhardt Jr. qualified 16th.

WROC-TV veteran Sports Director John Kucko will be in Watkins Glen Sunday for full coverage on News 8 at 11 and Fox First at Ten.

Don't Miss

Latest News